Stand Out in a Crowd

by ClearanceCharms

Disclaimer:  what I’m about to say is going to sound completely egocentric.  But I assure you, it comes from an entirely self-conscious place, not from one of vanity.

Since moving to Charleston from Boston a few years ago, I’ve found people staring at me with much more frequency than one might expect.  I know, I know, you’ve already forgotten my disclaimer.  I swear it’s true – walk into a restaurant and BAM!  All eyes on me.  It’s downright disarming. 

At first I thought they were going starry-eyed over my incredibly handsome fella (no exaggeration necessary).  But then I started paying closer attention and realized this phenomenon of the eyes occurred just as often when I was alone.  I find myself to be a fairly average looking person, of average height and average skin tone.  I just couldn’t figure out what it was they found so intriguing.  I started panicking; is my hair a mess?  Is my skirt tucked into my undies?  Is there dog slobber all over my pants?  Once I added a more strenuous appearance inspection to my daily routine and realized it was still happening, I began to think it must be something about my overall appearance. 

Then it hit me.  I don’t dress Charleston. 

I still dress like I would to work in Boston, or to dinner in San Francisco.  That has to be it, right?  So I took to polling my co-workers the dreaded question, do I stand out here?   To add to my frustration, the answer was mixed.  As I sat debating how over-the-top my favorite Jimmy Choos are, one of the girls asked the ultimate question…

“Why do you want to blend in?”

What an obvious place to start that I had completely overlooked.  As vain as this might seem, I’ve spent my years perfecting a very personalized wardrobe.  I’ve scoured and saved for the shoes only a bold woman might dare to walk in.  I spend my days urging you to be dazzling in your choice of accessories – and I mean it.  So why on earth was I letting a bunch of strangers make me second guess choices that define not only my style, but my personality? 

I am (generally) a confident, successful, outgoing person.  How on earth did I get sucked into an utterly teenage-like vortex of self doubt?  I don’t know how I got there, but I’ll tell you one thing; never again.  I’ll say it loud and proud –

I LOVE ACCESSORIES!

I love my shoes. I love my bags. 

I love hair fascinators. 

I love Crystal Charms!

I love 4 bangles at once!

I’m more than a little ashamed that I was trying to be something I’m not, that I was trying to blend in.  The best dressers are the most inventive ones.  The people who can meticulously craft a look that is unique to them are the ones we pin up to our inspiration boards – not the women who play it safe.  I was so tickled to work for Clearance Charms because that’s what charms are all about, isn’t it?  It’s the sheer personalized nature of our bracelets that make them amazing (well, that and the sparkle).  Individuality is as paramount to a beautiful bracelet design as it is to fashionable dressing.

I swear to you hear and now, with beads as my witness, that I will always follow my own fashion path.  And I hope you will too.

xoxo

 

One Comment to “Stand Out in a Crowd”

Leave a Reply

